Day one.

(Preface: I have highly odd taste buds, and will pretty much eat whatever vegan foods you shove in my face. My recipes will probably reflect my nuttiness.)

The day started as all truly good days do – with a hearty bowl of pumpkin (coffee) oat bran!
I’ve never liked eating hot breakfasts, so I made it the night before and stuck it in the refrigerator overnight. All I had to do this morning was toss a bit of cereal on it (I’m obsessed with toppings!), some dairy-free milk, as well as a smidge of unsweetened applesauce that I’ve been trying to polish off before it goes bad. The last (Costco-sized) jar that I had in the fridge had long gone past it’s expiration by the time I remembered it’s existence in the back of the fridge, only to fire it’s lid off in my face when I tried to open it. Note: old foods explode and try to kill you.

Pumpkin (coffee) Oat Bran à la KJ
1/3 cup oat bran + 2/3 cup water
1/2 scoop Trader Joe’s Vanilla Soy Protein powder
1 Tbsp Now Foods Rice Protein Powder
1/2 tbsp peanut butter
1 tsp instant coffee
vanilla extract
TONS of cinnamon
4 tiny scoops stevia
1/3-1/2 canned puréed pumpkin

I’m sure you could make this in any order that you want, but I prepare the oat bran first, then add in everything.

Lunch was a bit less exciting, but every bit as delicious! I packed a PB&J on whole wheat with a very special and very treasured Super Fruit Spread from TJ’s. The peanut butter was from my beloved Costco (when are they going to sell a Kirkland crunchy variety?!) I also bagged some chopped carrot sticks, but I just wasn’t feeling hungry today, so I skipped ‘em.
I ate the aforementioned lunch on campus, because that’s the way my Tuesdays and Thursdays go, and I typically have 15 minutes or so (!!) to eat it.

After drowsing my way through my final class I finally headed home with 2 thoughts in my head:

1) Gossip Girl
2) Frappuccino

Preferably at the same time.

I vita-mixed a few ice cubes with 1/2 cup soymilk, 1.5 cups water, vanilla, instant coffee, cinnamon and stevia, and plopped my bootay on the couch, prepped for a good 45 minutes of GG.

 

Wasn’t the episode fab?! I’m totally not digging the Serena/Carter side story, but I love all things Dan and Olivia. I’m not ashamed in the slightest to admit that I love me some Hilary Duff. She is one of the few spawn of children shows who hasn’t flipped out and been too vocal.

 

Dinner consisted of steamed Brussels sprouts, bell peppers, mushrooms and tofu doused in hummus. YUM. I have recently discovered that hummus makes a better dressing than dressings. I want to have a hummus baby.

 

Dessert was consumed while watching 90210 absentmindedly. I enjoyed 3 sliced miniature gala apples under a big plop of the end of my Pbu stash(NO!!). It was amazing, and I’ll do it again, believe me. Now I’m off to study and prep for tomorrow’s breakie!

 

On the agenda for Wednesday is a morning treadmill workout including my weighted vest, an afternoon Pilates class, a grocery-replenishing trip at a little place that I consider God’s gift to me, and more studying. I have a mid-term on Saturday that permits a whole sheet of notes, front and back, and lets just say that I WILL be taking up the WHOLE front and back. I will beat this exam!

Have a happy hump day eve!

 

xoxo

KJ

Leave a Reply

