Friday, bloody Friday

A new day, a new…illness? Just a week after I was sympathizing for a friend who woke up with a fever and body aches, I found myself in the same situation.

1am: Wake, chilled to the bone and feeling *off*. Go back to sleep.

1:30am: Yeah, something isn’t right here. This is DEF a fever. Sure, it’s cold in SoCal right now, but not THIS cold. Too tired to change anything. Go back to sleep.

2am: Crap I’m freezing! And I feel like puking! I guess I should help this fever along and warm up. Put on second pair of pants and hoodie, go back to sleep.

2:30am: Don’t puke. Don’t puke. I will never eat protein ice cream again. Go back to sleep.

8:20am: Wake up. Feel good! Man it’s HOT in here! Oh well.

So to summarize, I helped my fever do it’s job and I feel fine today. But man that had me scared! I have so many things to do in the coming days that I CAN NOT be sick.

Ice Cream

As a vegan, I’m DETERMINED to mimic EXACTLY the deliciousness that is So Delicious Coconut Milk ice cream, so to that end I have purchased a Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. Once it arrived my head started swimming with ideas and ratios and ingredients…how much xanthan per quart? Light or full fat coconut milk? How sweet should this be?!
But I ended up fashioning my own recipe sans coconut milk at ALL because I realized that I did not have the correct ingredients on hand 😦

This was what I consider a (tasty) fail.

  • SILK Vanilla, soymilk 2.5 cups
  • Oil, canola 2 tbsp
  • Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened 3 tbsp
  • Arrowroot flour 2 tbsp
  • Agave 2 tbsp
  • Rice Protein 4 tbsp
  • Trader Joe’s Soy Protein Powder 2 scoops
  • Stevia to taste

Blend, heat to low simmer, chill in fridge, pour in ice cream maker. Cross fingers and hope for a winner….taste….become a little upset but delight in the flavor resembling a fudgecicle from your days gone by.

I’ll continue my experimenting….but I’ll have to find more convenient times of day, because my (intolerant and problematic) sister flipped at the sound that the machine made. In my defense, she did not have to be using her laptop on the kitchen table. Other rooms were available, and it just wouldn’t be cool to make ice cream in my bedroom.

Other Vegan food ventures….

Brussels sprouts, how I love thee. I will eat of your gas-causing deliciousness until you are no longer sold for .88 cents/lb at Henry’s.
My mother and I (the vegans of the household) must go through at minimum 10 lbs of Brussels sprouts a week. I think I could eat them for breakfast. My personal favorite way to imbibe is with Sabra hummus, but marinara sauce comes in a close second.

Confessions

Being a vegan, the #1 question I hear is about protein intake, and for years I paid no mind. I’m still not sure if it really matters how many grams I get per day, but I’ve recently given into the scare tactics that my muscles will slowly eat themselves as I train for my half marathon if I don’t get at least 80g per day. That being said, I ADAHHH (that’s how I say “adore”) rice protein powder, and TJ’s vanilla soy ain’t too shabby either. I have a stock of hemp protein, but the lower protein to calorie ratio always causes me to lean back to a blend of rice/soy. I use both in every smoothie that I make, every bowl of oat bran I consume…its become an addiction, but if Brussels sprouts and vegan protein powders are wrong, then I don’t want to be right.

I’ve tallied my protein intake from the last week, and I have eaten an average of 84g of protein a day. Thoughts? I’m not running GINORMOUS distances yet, so I don’t feel as though my intake should matter a ton….And although I feel like I should jump on the protein train like HEAB, it feels like an oxy-moron for a vegan.

Strength

Since taking a Pilates class from a SUPER teacher here at a community college, I’ve become more (MUCH MORE) aware of how un-muscular I am, and how weak I feel. I’ve noticed this topic going around the blog world, and I don’t want to miss out on the movement to increase strength training instead of/ in addition to cardio. I may be able to incline train for hours, but if I have no core strength and I can’t complete 20 push-ups, I’m not exactly in the shape that I truly want to be in. I don’t want to be “skinny-fat.”

 

My own personal goals regarding strength training:

  • Progress to 20 push-ups “triceps” style. (Elbows held in against ribs) I can do 13-14 right now.
  • Complete Pilates Mat II this spring semester. Mat I was hard enough, but I want abs of steel! Plus, this teacher doesn’t play. She had us doing pushups from our *toes*. This ain’t your grandma’s Pilates class!
  • Do more body weight exercises. Squats, lunges, pull ups (right.), *push-ups*, planks…and any other unique body weight exercises I come across.

    What are your strength goals for the coming months? Lets get buff for summer, and bare arms!

Leave a Reply

